Sacrifice & Serve

To me, comfortability and receiving are enjoyable, while sacrificing and serving are rewarding (if your heart is in the right place). If you had to pick only one, which would you choose and why? I’m not saying that we shouldn’t enjoy being comfortable or receiving service and gifts, but rather to raise the question of which side is more important.

1- This is one reason why I wanted to run a half-marathon. I’ve been thinking how I like to be comfortable just like everyone else does, and then my mind ran wild… Is it comfortable for 27 million men, women and children to be trapped in slavery around the world today? (End It Movement)  Is it comfortable for the 100 million homeless people? Or the 783 million people who don’t have access to clean water? Talk about a gut check. For me personally, long-distance running was and is still NOT comfortable, easy or enjoyable, which is why the idea clicked in my head. However, the more I run the more enjoyable it gets. Running helps free my mind and think big picture.

2- Another reason why I decided to run was because of the push I got from Brian Epperson, mentor/friend and current marathoner, as well as from Rob Orna, brother-in-law/friend and current marathoner/triathlete. As much as I didn’t want to give in to peer pressure because I wasn’t a fan of running longer than to my fridge, they both talked me into it. This brings up a good reminder; Always encourage your friends to step outside of their comfort zones and be tested… You may be the one they’ll thank someday!

3- A couple of years ago, I had the privilege of meeting Paul Hurckman and George Carr with the adventure non-profit Venture Expeditions. Their motto is “Benefit The World, Discover Your Soul.” I went on a hiking trip with Venture during the summer of 2012 in Colorado. We sacrificed our minds and bodies with the goal of ending Malaria in Africa by raising awareness and funds for the cause. It was a great experience involving sacrifice and service, which helped me connect the dots with the idea of raising money for a non-profit during the half-marathon training.

4- Most important reason of all: I want to live more like Jesus did. I want to make selfless sacrifices for the good of others, just as He made the biggest sacrifice of all in dying on the cross for our sins. I want to be a servant like Jesus was for anyone he came in contact with, disciple or stranger. I want to help spread the gift of generosity and love to others. I want to pass on the blessings He has given me to others, so then they can pass on their blessings to someone else, and so on.

running

Three weeks ago, I gathered a list of 10 non-profits that family and friends support. The random one drawn that I am now raising money for during my training is Global Outreach Group, who equip Christians around the world to conduct effective Christian camps, retreats, and conference ministries. The non-profit is supported by mentor and friend Wendel Weaver.

If you would like to help, there are two ways to do so:

  1. During my training and race, I ask for your prayers for strength, peace and good health. Also, please pray that my relationship with The Good Lord Jesus will grow deeper, and that my motives for sacrificing and serving will be Godly and not self-pleasing.
  2. Secondly, if you are lead to give, whether it’s a lot or a little, you may do so online via Global Outreach Group’s *donation page link* (Then designate your gift next to “Jordan Ask Run”). To donate by mail, please send checks payable to:  Global Outreach Group. 24651 County Rd. 448. Van, TX 75790.  In the memo line, please write “Jordan Ask Run”
  • 100% of donations go to Global Outreach Group, which will help equip and train many Youth Camp leaders worldwide
  • Donations are tax-deductible
  • I will be matching donations up to $1,310 (half-marathon is 13.1 miles)
  • I’m running in the HyVee Road Race- Sun. morning, April 27th in Des Moines, IA

THANK YOU in advance for your prayers and support! It’s very much appreciated.

God bless,

Jordan Ask

“Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.”                    -1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Leave a Reply

