Round 2: Trust and faithfulness

During the last 4 miles of my first half-marathon in April, I was telling myself “I am never going to do this again.”  2 weeks later, I signed up for my second race in July. I was planning on running without fundraising for anyone, with the main focus on finishing the race stronger than the first one.

As I found out a couple weeks ago, God had something else in mind (as He usually does). After praying and talking with a few people, I’ve now been led to fundraise for Cornerstone of Hope Orphanage, a non-profit in Des Moines whose mission is “To stabilize and provide hope for orphaned and underprivileged children.” More specifically, Cornerstone of Hope has small orphanages in Nigeria and Sierra Leone in which they share their story and raise money so that about 25 kids can be provided with the necessities to live (about $1,000/year to take care of 1 orphan). The more I heard about their story from its founder Eric Idehen, the more my heart broke for these kids. With this non-profit being 100% authentic and trustworthy, like Global Outreach Group, I am determined to run for the hope of these orphans. At the end of the day, the ultimate goal is to help each orphan find a good family to adopt them and offer each of them a better life than they currently have.

orphans

My goal of finishing this race stronger pales in comparison to the importance of helping out these orphans that are suffering and in desperate need of the daily essentials that we all take for granted. Reality check. The questions of “What really matters?” and “Are my priorities in the right order?” come to mind. A race time is on the surface level of importance, whereas the opportunity to help provide for even 1 orphan for a year in Africa is on a whole different level of importance. As one of my mentors (Brian) likes to say, this opportunity is MASSIVE! And one that I have to be faithful and follow through with while trusting Him to do the rest.

With only 7 weeks until my race on July 20th in Chicago, the fundraising aspect will be a challenge but one that I am up for. First off, I ask for your prayers during my training/health/fundraising/race, as 13.1 miles is a big challenge for me.

Steve Prefontaine USA

The goal I’ve been given to raise is $1,500. Sounds steep at first, but I have faith that it’s possible. All donations will be tax-deductible. I will match up to a certain amount. If you’re led to give any amount, there are 2 ways to do so:

  1. Online via Website link  and then click “Donate” on the lower right hand side
  2. Mail via Check donation, made payable to Cornerstone of Hope (Memo line: Jordan’s Run) 3300 101st St, Urbandale, IA 50322

Originally, I thought I would run another half-marathon in hopes for a better time. All along, God’s plan was for me to fail just enough so that I would run again for the hopes of underprivileged orphans in Africa. His will > My will

Thanks to everyone for following my journey. I am very blessed to have you in my life.

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:19

 

Leave a Reply

